What's onLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an event
Sodbury and Yate Business Association Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors GR Autoservices Active

What's on


Thursday 27th April 2017, 10:30am

Clothing Yate Exhibition (Tue-Thur & Sat)

Yate Heritage Centre

27th April - 10th June

The history of clothes, fashion and accessories in 20th Century Yate. A highlight will be the Henry Blathwayt First World War dress jacket, an outstanding artefact normally stored at Dyrham Park.

The display will feature an array of historic clothes from the Heritage Centre collections.

Additionally, there will be wonderful aspects of our local clothing and fashion heritage linked to local people and places. A WWII flying jacket linked to the Nelson family of Yate, a Sodbury Queen coach driver's coat, historic military uniforms relating to the Rector of Horton plus Victorian and early 20th century clothes linked to the Walker family of Hawkesbury and the Alfred Woolley family of Bristol of engineering fame.

This is definitely a first for us and great to have the opportunity to showcase some of the clothes in our collections.

Supported by South Gloucestershire Council World War I project and the National Trust.

www.myyate.co.uk/yate/yate-herita...



Venue information

Yate Heritage Centre
Church Road, Yate, BS37 5BG


Ronnie's of Thornbury 01454 411137

Country Style Supplies Ltd

Other events

Wednesday 21st February 2018

Saturday 24th February 2018

Sunday 25th February 2018

Monday 26th February 2018

Tuesday 27th February 2018

Thursday 1st March 2018

Friday 2nd March 2018

Saturday 3rd March 2018

Tuesday 6th March 2018

Wednesday 7th March 2018

Click here for more events.




© 2018 Cromhall Media Ltd